Trilogy – Kettles Yard

Country: UK
Duration: 25 mins
Available Format/s: DVD / Digibeta tape / SD digital file


Linear Construction, Woman with Arms Crossed, and Arc, form a trilogy of films set in Kettle’s Yard, University of Cambridge, featuring cellist Anton Lukoszevieze. They include art objects from the Kettle’s Yard collection, opening up metaphorical space and meaning. These films are documents of musical performance: respectively, ‘Récitation’ (1980) by Georges Aperghis; ‘Sensitivo, per arco solo’ (1959) by Sylvano Bussotti; and ‘Raimondas Rumsas’ (2002) by Laurence Crane. Each composition holds a special interest: ‘‘Récitation’ requires the cellist to tap the strings with his left hand while speaking phonemes based around the word ‘violoncelle’. On ‘Sensitivo’ Anton writes, ‘It was composed to allow a situation where the instrumentalist encounters and creates the graphic score with a combination of improvised gestures and concrete sounds from the notation. In my realization I use the bow to a certain extent as if it were a pen or brush in the hand of an imaginary graphic artist, scanning the contours of drawn and scribbled lines’. ‘Raimondas Rumsas’ was composed for Anton to play with his Bach-Bogen, a curved bow capable of playing up to four strings at once.
(‘Woman with Arms Crossed’ was the name sometimes used by Auguste Rodin to describe his sculpture Eve.)

More works by Jayne Parker

We’d love to hear from you

If you would like to speak to a member of our team, please get in touch


LUX, Waterlow Park Centre,
Dartmouth Park Hill, London, N19 5JF, UK

Telephone: +44 (0)20 3141 2960

Sign up to our newswire to stay up to date with everything LUX

LUX is a registered charity and not-for-profit company limited by guarantee:

Company No: 4421812
VAT No: 795 9063 73
Charity No: 1094936

Artis Council Supported Logo

© 2021 LUX. All rights reserved.

Skip to content