LUX Associate Artists Programme

LUX Associate Artists Programme (AAP), is a 12 month post-academic development course for artists working with the moving image who have completed a graduate or post-graduate course in the past five years.

LUX Associate Artists Programme (AAP), is a 12 month post-academic development course for artists working with the moving image who have completed a graduate or post-graduate course in the past five years. It aims to provide an intensive development focused on critical discourse, extending to the practical and infrastructural issues that present challenges for artists working with the medium. The programme aims to provide a mutually supportive context in which to develop work, and to benefit from networking and learning opportunities with arts professionals closely involved in artists’ moving image, with funding to realise a final group project.

The programme consists of a minimum of 12 monthly critical seminars taking place at LUX on the third Sunday of every month, exploring issues around artists’ moving image in the context of the artists’ own practice. The particular focus of each seminar will be decided by the participants in discussion with the programme facilitator, and each one will be based around an invited arts professional (artists, curators, writers etc). There will also be an informal programme of relevant events including access to LUX events during the year.

In addition, each artist will be paired with a mentor who they will meet with up to six times during the course. They will also have continuous access to specialist support from LUX staff and the programme facilitator during the year.

Guest speakers and mentors on the programme have so far included: John Akomfrah, Robert Beavers, Gregg Bordowitz, Duncan Campbell, Marc Camille Chaimowicz, JJ Charlesworth, Adam Chodzko, Steve Claydon, Stuart Comer, Ann Course, Adam Curtis, Stephan Dillemuth, Kodwo Eshun, Cerith Wyn Evans, Harun Farocki, Ryan Gander, Andrea Geyer, Melanie Gilligan, Neil Gray, Graham Gussin, Emma Hedditch, Will Holder, Chrissie Iles, Mary Kelly, Torsten Lauschmann, Malcolm le Grice, Mark Leckey, Francis McKee, Daria Martin, Simon Martin, Jeremy Millar, Rachel O. Moore, Jan Mot, Neil Mulholland, Laura Mulvey, Rosalind Nashashibi, Hayley Newman, Uriel Orlow, Maureen Paley, Pawel Pawlikowski, Emily Pethick, Gail Pickering, Elizabeth Price, Josephine Pryde, Steve Reinke, Lis Rhodes, Adrian Rifkin, Lindsay Seers, Paul Sietsema,Lucy Skaer, Mike Sperlinger, Polly Staple, Hito Steyerl, Catherine Sullivan, Stephen Sutcliffe, David Toop, Emily Wardill, Andrew Wheatley, Maxa Zoller.

The programme is designed to be flexible and work around jobs and other commitments so most activity takes place in the evening and at weekends, but applicants should be aware that the programme does involve a significant commitment throughout the year and should be regarded by participants as a priority. Applicants should especially note the dates for the regular monthly meetings, on the third Sunday of each month. They are mandatory and successful applicants are asked to commit to them as a condition of commencing the programme.

The programme is free to participants, but they will be expected to cover their own costs such as travel.

Programme Aims

  • To create a mutually supportive context which places creative and intellectual practice at the heart of development.
  • To apply critical discourse as the main tool for achieving development.
  • To respect artists’ different working practices and to learn from each other’s development.
  • To explore social and cultural contexts as the location for significant individual practice.
  • The programme was facilitated by writer/curator/artist Ian White from 2007 – 2013.

Applications are now closed, the call for future years will be made on the LUX NEWSWIRE.

Past AAP Final Projects


(dis)chorus Residency, a project of the 2010/11 programme.

Detroit is the 2009/10 final project

8 Metaphors (because the moving image is not a book) is the 2008/9 final project

The Politics in the Room is the AAP 2007/8 final project.

The final project of LUX AAP 2011-12, How can you relate?


Associate Artists

2012/13 Richard Bevan, Rebecca Birch, Kathryn Elkin, Ian Giles, Thomas Lock, Edward Thomasson, Richard Whitby, Rehana Zaman

2011/12 Helen Benigson, Benedict Drew, Andrew Lacey, Patricia Lennox-Boyd, Heather Phillipson, Paul Simon Richards, Kerstin Schroedinger

2010/11 Fawzia Afifi, Ed Atkins, David Ferrando Giraut, Conal McStravick, Lucy Pawlek, Naheed Raza, Patrick Staff and Corin Sworn

2009/10 Paul Abbott, Mark Barker, Erik Blinderman, Lucy Clout, Kim Coleman and Jenny Hogarth, Maria Taniguchi, Cara Tolmie

2008/9 Luke Fowler, Laura Gannon, Duncan Marquiss, Laure Prouvost, Grace Schwindt, Samuel Stevens, Stina Wirfelt and Emma Wolukau-Wanambwa

2007/8 Claire Hope, Anja Kirschner, Matthew Noel-Tod, Rachel Reupke, James Richards, James Sweetbaum, Mayling To, Katy Woods

Skip to content